Document the good days.

image

I had to. It was too cute. And accurately sums of the life of my dogs over the past year.

ANYWAY. IVF Cycle #1 is officially a go-go. I have an official calendar and everything. I have to start taking birth control pills tomorrow night (my brain STILL cannot wrap itself around this fact even though intellectually I understand why I’m doing it). I get more blood drawn this Friday. And then NEXT Friday is yet another invasive procedure. And then…the injections.

I’m not going to lie. The fact that in a few weeks I’m going to be stabbing myself with a needle on a regular basis scares the ever loving shit out of me. Don’t get me started on the PIO shots that I hear about. Hi husband, here’s a giant 2 inch needle, please jam this in my ass. Thanks, love ya! Ugh. This process is nothing but pure romance, I tell you.

Today was a good day. I didn’t cry today. I didn’t have any anxiety attacks over the possibility of failure. So all in all, a good day. I feel like I should document this, because my good days lately are few and far between. Lately, most days just feel like I’m in some sort of baby purgatory. Just tell me either way, will I ever have a kid or not, so I can move on with my life and figure out the next step.

Back on the day we first found out that this was our only option, both of us had genetic testing done for something like 250 genetic diseases. We finally got the results back today (we’re fine by the way), and reading through the list of things they test for was…enlightening. I know these things they tested us for can be awful terrible things…but OH MY GOD some of the names of these diseases. I will leave you with this word-for-word text conversation between my husband and me.

Me: “I’m reading through the report and we were tested for something called Maple Syrup Urine Disease.”

Husband: “I didn’t know that was a thing. Is your pee brown like maple syrup? Thick like maple syrup? Taste like maple syrup? You’ve googled this already, right?”

Me: “Obviously. It makes your urine smell sweet like maple syrup. Then your brain swells and you die.”

Husband: “Well then. I guess it’s better than your pee smelling like dog farts, then your brain swells and you die.”

Me: “I really hope our kid inherits your optimism.”

Husband: “Me too.”

See? Today was a good day. I’m probably going to hell for laughing at the name of a disease. But that’s a conversation for another day.

4 thoughts on “Document the good days.

  1. Heh that’s awesome. I know – birth control during this is totally offensive, especially with all the years (I) spent to NOT get pregnant with it! Definitely document the good and try for the sense of humor as once the mega hormones kick in and your bum gets sore it’ll be harder to keep a game face. In the meantime, schedule a massage during that time and make sure to heat that bum for a good 5 minutes before he pokes you with the needle – makes a WORLD of difference (and warm it afterwards, helps the oil distribute and the booty from getting these weird bumps on ’em). Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You gals and your butt injections. I don’t know how but I have (so far) avoided those. They sound awful! Is it progesterone they are injecting? I have these lovely (not really) pessaries to errr deposit up my lady parts twice a day. They don’t hurt at least!

    Like

  3. Last month when I started taking birth control pills, it felt so good to finally be starting the process. There was so much testing and build up in the months before that, and I just wanted to get going! That text exchange cracked me up. I have to admit, when we did our genetic testing, I was a tiny bit disappointed that none of the obscure diseases I’d self-diagnosed myself with on WebMD panned out. Ah well. Wishing you all the best this cycle!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

